Monday, July 19, 2010

The Legend of the Rainbowman

Warrior of Love Rainbowman was created by Kōhan Kawauchi, this was the first superhero TV series produced by Toho Company Ltd., and was broadcast on NET (which is now TV Asahi) from October 1972 to September 1973, 52 episodes.

Just like Kawauchi's earlier 7-Color Mask (1959), this series has a superhero with 7 different identities. Takeshi Yamato, the Rainbowman, transformed into 7 different superhero forms (called "Dashes"). Dash 1 is moon, Dash 2 is fire, Dash 3 is water, Dash 4 is wood, Dash 5 is gold, Dash 6 is earth, and the main Dash, 7, is the sun.

In 1982, there was a 22-episode Anime remake of this series and had an updated version of the original theme song, it was very loosely based on this show: A young man commands 7 giant robots, and activate a larger giant robot.

No comments: